Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Mid-week Encounter Bible Study outline

Acceptance Worship Center Ministry

Mid-Week bible study

Access number is 712-432-1500

Password – 154852*

Pastor Mark

Focal book of Study is – Zechariah

Background – Zechariah was one of the prophets along with Haggai that appeared on the scene after captivity.  He came after Haggai.  He was both prophet and priest.  He was the son of Berechiah.  He came from a lineage of prophets.

Central Truth/Theme

“I am jealous for Jerusalem” – Zecahriah 1:14; 8:1.

Prophecies – There are more prophecies of Christ in the book of Zechariah than in any other prophetic Book expect Isaiah. 

What is the meaning of prophecy?

Prophecy – Is a message of divine truth revealing God's will, the foretelling of what is to come.  Something that is declared by a prophet, especially a divinely inspired prediction, instruction, or exhortation.  A divinely inspired utterance or revelation.

Question?  How do you feel about now a day prophets?  Are they relevant?  Are they biblical?  Have prophecy ceased?

List a few:

·        Servant

·        Branch

·        King-Priest

·        Lowly King

·        Betrayed

·        Hands Pierced

·        Smitten Shepherd

·        Second coming

The structure of the Book –

1.      The Night Visions – Chapters 1-6

2.     Four Messages – Chapters 7 & 8

3.     The Prophetic Burdens Chapters 9-14

The Night Visions

1.     The Rider on the Red Horse

2.     The Four Horns

3.     The Four Carpenters

4.     The Man with the measuring line

5.     Joshua The High Priest

6.     The Golden candlestick & Two Olive Trees

7.     The Flying Scroll

8.     The Ephah

9.     The Four Chariots

10.    The Symbolic Crowning of Joshua

Four Messages – These for messages are found in Zechariah 7:1-7, 7:8-14, 8:1-7, and 8:18-23.  The all support the central message of Zechariah.  God’s purpose for Jerusalem is unchanged by any ritual or form.  He was and is “a Jealous God with great jealousy” for His people.  These are messages which teach that worship is a matter of the heart.

The Prophetic Burdens –

1.     The first burden is found in chapter 9-11

2.     The second burden is found in chapters 12-14